The Society for Polymer Science, India

Prof. Santappa Profile
Mushi Santappa born october 2, 1923 obtained the BA (Chemistry) in 1943 from the University of Madras. He did his MSc (Chemistry) (1946) from Banaras Hindu University and then left for UK as GOI Scholar for higher studies. He obtained PhD (Organic Chemistry) in 1949 from University of London under the guidance of R.W. West, and another PhD (1951) in 'physical chemistry of high polymers' from Manchester University.
He was conferred honorary DSc from Andhra, Madras, Sri Krishna Devaraya and Madurai Kamaraj universities and honorary D.Litt from Gulbarga University. He joined the University of Madras (1952) as Reader in Physical Chemistry and was promoted as Professor in 1958. He became UGC Senior Professor (1966) and Director, Central Leather Research Institute (CLRI) in 1972. Subsequently he served as Vice-Chancellor of SV University, Tirupathi as well as the University of Madras.
He published 350 papers1 in peer reviewed journals and guided 59 PhD students. Professor Santappa was the recipient of the S.S. Bhatnagar Prize for Chemical Sciences (1967), the Sir JC Ghosh Memorial Medal of Indian Chemical Society (1982), and the FICCI Award for Science and Technology (1985). He was elected Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore, National Academy of Sciences (India), Allahabad and the Indian National Science Academy, New Delhi. In 1996 he authored a comprehensive review of the status of polymer science in India2. Professor Santappa was initiated into the study of kinetics of vinyl polymerization as a Ph.D student working with Professor Meredith G. Evans, FRS (1904-1952) at the University of Manchester in the years between 1948 and 1951.  Professor Evans, an early pioneer in the study of chemical kinetics, turned to the study of electron transfer reactions involving ferrous ions and hydrogen peroxide (Fenton reagent) and their ability to polymerize methyl methacrylate in aqueous emulsions3 He elucidated the kinetics and mechanism of this reaction.  He further proposed that UV and visible light can promote internal electron transfer and, thus, vinyl monomers can be polymerized under the influence of light (photo polymerization).  Professor Santappa’s Ph.D work concerned photo-initiated free radical polymerization of vinyl monomers4. Upon his return to India in 1952 professor Santappa built an active school of research on the study of kinetics of vinyl polymerization.  Beginning in 19555 he published a series of over 150 papers on kinetics and mechanism of vinyl polymerization and determination of initiation rates and chain transfer constants for a host of initiators and vinyl monomers.  Along with Professor Santi .K. Palit at the Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Professor Santappa, established the first rigorous school for polymer science research in India and trained a whole generation of polymer chemists who went on to practice the discipline with great distinction. Professor Santappa brought great visibility to Indian polymer research for about three decades, from around 1955 to 1990. In 1983, he organized India's first ever IUPAC sponsored International Symposium on Polymers at Madras (Chennai).
References :  
For a list of complete publications of Professor Santappa, see,  
State of the Art in Polymer Science and Engineering in India, M.Santappa, T.R. Publications, Madras (1996).  
M.G. Evans, J.H. Baxendale and J.K. Kilham, J. Polym. Sci., 1, 466 (1946).  
M.G. Evans, M. Santappa and N. Uri, J. Polym. Sci., 7, 243 (1951).  
V. Mahadevan and M. Santappa, Die Makromol.Chem., 16119 (1955).  
Prof. M. Santappa Award: Background  
The Award was instituted by the Society for Polymer Science, India, in honor of Professor Mushi Santappa, a distinguished Physical Chemist and a pioneer in polymer science research in India. Professor Santappa was the founder of the Department of Physical Chemistry, University of Madras. Under his dynamic leadership and erudite scholarship, the Department became of hub of polymer science research in the period 1952-1970. Later Professor Santappa became the Director of Central Leather Research Institute, Chennai (1972-78) and Vice Chancellor, S.V. University, Tirupathi (1979-1981) and University of Madras (1981- 84 ).
The award is given biennially by SPS(I) to distinguished scientists for outstanding research contributions made in India during the ten years preceding the year of the Award in the field of Polymer Science.
Prof. Santappa Award Winnners of The Society for Polymer Science, India  
Sr. No.
Name Affiliation
 Dr. V. M. Nadkarni  National Chemical Laboratory, Pune
 Dr. S. Sivaram  National Chemical Laboratory, Pune
 Prof. Ashok Misra  Indian Institute of Technology, New Delhi
 Prof. B. M. Mandal  Indian Association for Cultivation of Science,  Kolkata
5 .
 Prof. A.K.Nandi  Indian Association for Cultivation of Science,  Kolkata
 Dr. C. P. Raghunadan Nair  Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre,  Thiruvananthapuram
 Dr. P. P. Wadgaonkar  National Chemical Laboratory, Pune
 Dr. Pralay Maiti  Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi
9. 2014  Dr Nikhil K. Singha  Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur
10. 2017  Prof. Giridhar Madras  Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
11. 2018  Professor Tarun Kumar Mandal  Indian Association for Cultivation of Science, Kolkata
12. 2020  Professor Niranjan Karak  Tezpur University
13. 2020  Dr Prakash D Trivedi  Gharda Chemicals
14. 2023  Prof. Susanta Banerjee  IIT, Kharagupur
15. 2023  Prof. Suhrit Ghosh  IACS Kolkata
Professor M. Santappa Award (2021-2022)  
This award is in honour of one of our very distinguished polymer scientists who pioneered polymer science research in India. The award recognizes outstanding research contributions to polymer science and technology made in India during the preceding ten years. The award will carry a cash prize of Rs 50,000/- along with a citation.

Nomination Form Click here